h1

they’re gonna eat me alive

January 13, 2010

help, i’m alive
my heart keeps beating like a hammer
hard to be soft, tough to be tender

After yet another argument heated discussion with my family, I realised it was time to continue with this blog.  My sister had a great point when she accused me of not taking any action regarding the things I’m passionate about, so hopefully resurrecting this dusty old thing will shut her up (and I mean that in the nicest possible way!).

Rebirth necessitates change, hence the new blog title.  Yes, I’ve already changed it three times.  No, I don’t care.  For the record, this will be the last time, because I think I’ve finally found a title (and song) that perfectly sums up not only myself, but also the (intended) content of this blog.  ‘Nuff said?  Good.

single cover

The title, of course, comes from the Metric song of the same name.  It’s the debut single from the album Fantasies, which was probably my favourite album of 2009.  There’s no denying it’s a little more “mainstream”/”radio-friendly” than their previous efforts (probably intentionally so), but the songs are well-constructed and Emily Haines‘ vocals are gorgeous, so it still works well as both a great Metric album as well as an awesome indie/pop/rock album in its own right.

“Help I’m Alive” is a brilliant album-opener, and it also exists in an acoustic version that gives a whole new perspective to the song.  The situation is reminiscent of Emily Haines‘ reworking of an early Metric song, “Dr. Blind”, for her solo album Knives Don’t Have Your Back – what began as something poppy and upbeat became dark and brooding.  It’s an interesting experiment, and if Emily chose to do an entire album of acoustic Metric songs, it would undoubtedly be a completely different listening experience compared to the original work (hint, hint, Ms. Haines).

Leave a comment